Matthew Herbert & stargaze perform Terry Riley’s ‘in c’

May 6th, 2013 @ 20:00
Kölner Philharmonie, Achtbrücken Festival


Terry Riley’s in c is one of the first and style-defining works of the so-called Minimal Music. His influence on later US- and European composers, but also on the development of electronic club-music as well as pop music nowadays, is not to be dismissed. The 1964 composed work premiered in San Francisco the same year  – the birthdate of Minimal Music.

Initiated by stargaze and invited by the acht-brücken festival colognematthew herbert and the young music-collective stargaze will now perform and redefine in c.

Herbert, especially known for his live-sampling and works with “concrete sounds”, will record and sample the live-performed acoustical patterns of in c, electronically rework and mix them with instrumental sounds again: The different layers, interfering with each other, will have an even more intense effect – a homage to a timeless piece and music’s developments since 1964.


Matthew Herbert Quartett
The End of Silence (2012)
German Premiere

Terry Riley
in c (1964)
First Performance of version for electronics and live instruments

Matthew Herbert Quartett

stargaze are
André de Ridder – violin & artistic leader
Johannes Pennetzdorfer – viola
Michael Rauter – cello
Marlies van Gangelen – oboe
Miguel Pérez Iñesta – clarinet, bass clarinet
Morris Kliphuis – horn
Sarah Nicolls – piano
Johannes Fischer – percussion

Matthew Herbert – electronics

In collaboration with c/o pop und stargaze